USA Rugby Referee Intern

ogp

 

After my last post, I realized that I mentioned my USA Rugby Internship over the summer, but I haven’t elaborated on it.

My internship was an amazing experience. I was lucky enough to get the position due to some contacts that I had through playing at the University.

Some duties that I had during the summer were website maintenance, daily duties for my boss, and event administration. I created usarugbyreferees.org and helped run it day to day, and helped maintain their other websites as well. For my boss, I would input claims and receipts and do lots of accounting for him. Anything he needed I would be doing. For events, I would help out with set up and with break down, I would help keep the event running smoothly and operate how it was supposed to.

I was lucky enough to be able to go out to California for two USA games and help out with the referees. I took them out to eat, went to the gym with them, helped them prepare for their games. It really was an amazing experience and kind of made me realize I wanted to stay in sports as a career.

So who knows, maybe someday in the future you’ll see me out there.

Leave a Reply

